BBC Gardener of the Year



Alan Titchmarsh (1999)

Diarmuid Gavin (2000-2)

Monty Don (2003-5)

Joe Swift (2006-8)

Toby Buckland (2009)


Carol Klein (2007)

Rachel de Thame (2008)


BBC2, 5 November 1999 to 23 October 2009 (2008 as Gardener of the Decade, 2009 incorporated into Gardeners' World)


Annual gardening competition (as if you couldn't guess). The contestants are tested on their knowledge and technique, and have to create a show garden (changed to a domestic garden in 2005, and an RHS-standard border in 2007) in a limited time. 2009 saw the competition broadcast as part of Gardeners' World, with a viewers' phone vote accounting for 50% of the final scores.


1999 Katherine Crouch
2000 David Rosewarne
2001 Adrian Walsh
2002 Edwin Rye
2003 Dianne Fryer
2004 Diana Guy
2005 Helen Brading-Miles
2006 Sue Beesley
2007 Bob Tridgett
2009 Hilary Barnes

Gardener of the Decade
2008 Katherine Crouch

Web Links

Programme website


Image:Gardener of the year 5 champions.jpg
The first five champions line up in chronological order
Former host, Joe Swift


To correct something on this page or post an addition, please complete this form and press "Send":
If you are asking us a question, please read our contact us page and FAQ first.

Name: E-mail:   
A Labyrinth Games site.
Design by Thomas.
Printable version
Editors: Log in