The Other Boat Race



Sarah Cawood and Joe Mace with Sir Steve Redgrave


BBC Three/One, 22 to 27 March 2004 (6 episodes in 1 series)


Two celebrity teams composed of Oxford and Cambridge University graduates train for, and compete in, a re-creation of the annual Universities Boat Race. It was a poignant time for the BBC, because it was the 150th year of the competition and they were just about to lose broadcasting rights to ITV.

File:The other boat race pic1.jpgLovely weather for ducks

A well made programme where the underdogs won despite all the odds.


Oxford team:

  • Jonathan Aitken, ex Tory MP
  • Richard Herring, stand-up comic
  • Helen Atkinson Wood, actress and comedian
  • Anna Botting, Sky newsreader
  • Toby Young, journalist
  • Emma Kennedy, TV presenter

They are coached by gold rowing medallists Tim Foster and Martin Cross.

Cambridge team:

  • Stephanie Cook, Olympic Pentathlete gold medallist
  • Edward Stourton, Radio 4 'Today' presenter
  • Jan Ravens, impressionist
  • Kit Hesketh-Harvey, writer and performer
  • Grub Smith, journalist
  • Konnie Huq, Blue Peter presenter

They are coached by Olympic rowing medallists Gillian Lindsay and Greg Searle.


To correct something on this page or post an addition, please complete this form and press "Send":
If you are asking us a question, please read our contact us page and FAQ first.

Name: E-mail:   
A Labyrinth Games site.
Design by Thomas.
Printable version
Editors: Log in